Superior Court of Washington,	County of
In re parentage:	
Petitioner (person who started this case):	No
And Respondent/s: (as listed on Petition)	Summons: Notice about Parentage (SM)
	e about Parentage
<b>To the Respondent:</b> The Petitioner has starte children.	ed an action asking the court about parentage of
Important! Petitioner must complete the addresservice address and the court's address, this S	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
[ ] Petitioner [ ] Petitioner's Lawyer (name	ne):
Petitioner's Address for Service: (This does no	of have to be a home address.)
You may <b>only</b> serve Petitioner by email if an er otherwise agrees in writing. See <i>All Civil 006 Ag</i>	
[ ] Email (optional) – Petitioner agrees to acce at this address:	pt service of legal papers for this case by email
Superior Court of Washington, County of	
Court's Address for Filing:	

You must **respond in writing** for the court to consider your side,

**Deadline!** Your Response must be served on Petitioner within **20 days** of the date you were served this *Summons* (or 60 days if you were served outside of Washington State). If the case has been filed in court, you must also file your Response by the same deadline.

**If you do not** file and serve your *Response* or a *Notice of Appearance* by the deadline:

- No one has to notify you about other hearings in this case, and
- The court may approve the Petitioner's requests without hearing your side. (This is called a *default judgment*.)

**Lawyer not required.** It is a good idea to talk to a lawyer, but you may file and serve your *Response* without one.

## Follow these steps:

- **1. Read** the *Petition* and any other documents you receive with this *Summons*. These documents explain what Petitioner is asking for.
- **2. Fill out** the *Response*. It must be completed on this form: *Response to Petition to Decide Parentage* (FL Parentage 302).

You can get the Response and other forms at:

- The Washington State Courts' website: www.courts.wa.gov/forms
- Washington LawHelp: www.washingtonlawhelp.org, or
- The Superior Court Clerk's office or county law library (for a fee).
- **3. Serve** (give) a copy of your *Response* to Petitioner at the address listed in the *Petitioner's Address for Service* above.

4.	<b>File</b> your original <i>Response</i> with the clerk of the court at the address listed in the court's address for filing above.
•	

Print name of Petitioner or lawyer and WSBA No.

Signature of Petitioner or lawyer

If there is no "Case No." listed on page 1, this case may not have been filed and you will not be able to file a Response. Contact the Superior Court Clerk or check www.courts.wa.gov to find out.

Date

If the case was **not** filed, you must still serve your Response, and you may demand that Petitioner file this case with the court. Your demand must be in writing and must be served on Petitioner or their lawyer (whoever signed this Summons). If Petitioner does not file papers for this case within 14 days of being served with your demand, this service on you of the Summons and Petition will not be valid. If Petitioner does file, then you must file your original Response with the court clerk at the address above.

This summons is issued pursuant to RCW 4.28.180 and Superior Court Civil Rule 4.1 of the State of Washington.